Friday, January 29, 2010

The Bird and the Bee to Release New Record!

What could be better than THIS you ask? How about a tribute to Daryl Hall and John Oates? Inara George and Greg Kurstin, the duo known as The Bird and the Bee, are readying the release of Interpreting The Masters Volume 1: A Tribute to Daryl Hall and John Oates The record will hit digitally and physically on March 23 via Blue Note records.

Being the well endowed bloggers that we are, the record has been ours for a week or so, this allowing for ultimate saturation. The verdict? A score. George and Kurstin step so far out of their comfort zone with this release, yet somehow make it feel organic, natural, fun and inspired. The music of Hall and Oates is timeless; classics that you feel you never willfully listened to, yet when heard, you can sing every word. This record is not forced by any means, which is completely evident in George's spot-on vocal arrangements, her uncanny ability to match intricate pop-vocal lines and Kurstin's tasteful melodic reworkings of these classic tunes. Keynote tracks on the release include "Rich Girl," "Kiss on My List" and a new, original tune titled, "Heard it on the Radio." This is a must have release for those die hard Hall and Oates fanatics, your pop-inclined hipster-grifters, and mainstream parental folk alike. Look for this on NPR's Discover Songs in the near future.

Full track list after the jump.

1. Heard It On The Radio
2. I Can’t Go For That
3. Rich Girl
4. Sarah Smile
5. Kiss On My List
6. Maneater
7. She’s Gone
8. Private Eyes
9. One on One

1 comment:

karp said...

hahahaha i remember when this video came out and you DIED over it.