Monday, November 10, 2014

Jessica Pratt: "Back, Baby"

Ironically, the first song I pick to post in a long time is "Back, Baby" from a long time favorite Jessica Pratt. The mysterious songwriter with the Stevie Nicks "Landslide" delivery and early Marianne Faithful rasp-on-command, delivers a beautiful new track in "Back, Baby" - the lead track from her upcoming new album and Drag City debut, On Your Own Love Again due Jan 27. Welcome back to Jessica Pratt, and to me, baby.

Hookworms: 'The Hum'

Hookworms are a band I don't really want to know much about. Don't want to know what they look like, who their favorite bands are - just want to live inside their noisy sludge. Yet - this band write hooks (take note bands who just make noise for noise sake) - and while I would argue that the two songs below aren't the best this album (out now) has to offer - they are pretty great. Get The Hum and see for yourself.

Shamir: "On the Regular"

This is just a pure love-this-song post. Shamir is an exciting and infectious new artist singed to XL. His recent EP is solid cover to digital cover - and this new single is just genuine exuberence. Not sure album details - but for now, just grab this track (out now) and enjoy.

Leon Bridges

Easily one of the most exciting new artists making music - Texas-based Leon Bridges recalls the most genuine raw soul and classic melodies - taking you back to early Muscle Shoals (Percy Sledge or Arthur Alexander) and all the way through to the crystal voiced pop of Sam Cooke. Bridges has a bright future, and we can only hope we can be a part of it.

The Amazing: "Picture You"

Continuing to bring you some essential new songs - we continue with the new track from long-time Swedish warriors The Amazing who's new tune "Picture You" while clocking in at a patience testing 9 minutes and 27 seconds - delivers in its languid melodies and intricate guitar work. Recalling vocal and instrumental influences direct from vintage Red House Painters, The Amazing's upcoming album Picture You is set for release Feb 17 from the lovely folks at Partisan.

Friday, October 31, 2014


- Galantis - Runaway (U & I)
- Baauer - One Touch Feat. AlunaGeorge & Rae Sremmurd
- Sound Remedy - Victory (Feat. Evvy) - Zella Day - “Hypnotic”
- Made In Heights - “Ghosts”
- Lion Babe - "Jump Hi (Feat. Childish Gambino)"
- Leon Bridges - “Better Man”
- Flume - “That Look (feat. George Maple)”
- Madeon - “Imperium”
- Diplo - “Everyday”
- Tourist - “Wait”
- Tove Styrke - “Borderline”
- Years And Years - “Desire”
- Peking Duk - “Take Me Over Feat. SAFIA”
- AlunaGeorge - “Supernatural”
- Gorgon City - “FTPA (Feat. Erik Hassle)”

 Happy Halloween or some bullshit like that.