Friday, June 19, 2009

Only Summer Today

Andrew Gombert/European Pressphoto Agency
After getting rained out at the US Open yesterday at Bethpage Black (go screw yourself USGA), we're officially only listening to good summer music today. So get ready.

So here is the first installment of such. Luckily the band is actually called Summer Cats and they just got signed to Slumberland, who has risen to fame on the back of the success that Pains of Being Pure at Heart have had this year. Summer Cats are from Australia and play a sort of 60's garage pop, complete with buoyant basslines, distorted keyboards and super catchy vocals from Scott Stevens (not that Scott Stevens). Their debut album Songs for Tuesdays comes out July 14th and will absolutely help you to break out of the funk that this June weather has caused. See track listing and video after the jump.

Summer Cats
Songs For Tuesdays
Street date: July 14, 2009

1. Let's Go!
2. Hey You
3. Super
4. Fulton Gurls
5. In June
6. Wild Rice
7. Christopher Wren
8. Maybe Pile
9. Lonely Planet
10. Camel Cords
11. Waking Up
12. St. Tropez
13. Paperweight

No comments: