Monday, June 8, 2009

Tour Alert: The Strange Boys

Slyly waiting under the radar since a big break-out SXSW The Strange Boys launched a huge tour over the weekend. Their debut record The Strange Boys and Girls Club (In The Red) has received accolades in all the right places from Pitchfork to Rolling Stone. The record manages to channel older southern blues and country through the filter of modern, garage rock and classic In The Red-style guitar noise yielding one of the finer debut albums of the year. The Strange Boys are playing three New York shows, including a highly anticipated Todd P BBQ party at Fort Tilden Beach in Queens. For the less motivated city folk (cough, us) they are also playing the Cake Shop. See after the jump for a video and full tour dates.


06.05.09 Fri Denton, TX Rubber Gloves *
06.06.09 Sat Austin, TX Red 7 *
06.07.09 Sun Houston, TX Mangos *
06.08.09 Mon New Orleans, LA Saturn Bar *
06.09.09 Tue Atlanta, GA Drunken Unicorn *
06.10.09 Wed Greensboro, NC UNCG / Square One *
06.11.09 Thu Washington, DC Comet Pizza and Ping Pong *
06.12.09 Fri Baltimore, MD Sonar*#$
06.13.09 Sat Brooklyn, NY Market Hotel *#
06.14.09 Sat Queens, NY Todd P Unamplified Acoustic BBQ / Fort Tilden Beach
06.14.09 Sun New York, NY Cake Shop *&
06.15.09 Mon Philadelphia, PA Danger Danger Gallery *
06.16.09 Tue Worcester, MA Ralph's Diner *
06.17.09 Wed Rochester, NY Bug Jar
06.18.09 Thu Cleveland, OH Now That's Class
06.19.09 Fri Fort Wayne, IN Brass Rail
06.20.09 Sat Columbus, OH Cafe Bourbon St *
06.22.09 Mon Chicago, IL Beat Kitchen *
06.23.09 Tue Minneapolis, MN First-Avenue *
06.24.09 Wed Iowa City, IA Public Space 1 *
06.25.09 Thu Lawrence, KS Jackpot Music Hall *
06.26.09 Fri Denver, CO Hi-Dive *
06.27.09 Sat Salt Lake City, UT Kilby Court *
06.29.09 Mon Los Angeles, CA The Smell *
06.30.09 Tue Los Angeles, CA The Echo
07.02.09 Thu San Francisco, CA Hemlock #
07.03.09 Fri San Jose, CA Nickel City #^
07.04.09 Sat Los Angeles, CA Videothing Party
07.05.09 Sun Santa Cruz, CA The Crepe Place
07.06.09 Mon San Diego, CA Casbah #
07.07.09 Tue Tucson, AZ Plush #
07.09.09 Thu Lubbock, TX Bash Riprock's #
07.10.09 Fri Dallas, TX The Lounge on Elm St. #
07.11.09 Sat Austin, TX Stubb's (SPOONX3) +

* = w/ Mika Miko
# = w/ The Coathangers
$ = w/ The Death Set
& = w/ Silk Flowers
^ = w/ Nodzzz
+ = w/ Spoon, Atlas Sound

No comments: